Skip to main content

Jay Gephart

Please join me in congratulating Jay Gephart, Al G. Wright Chair of Purdue Bands and Orchestras and director of the Purdue “All-American” Marching Band, for honors the band recently received from the Indiana General Assembly and Indianapolis mayor’s office.

Representatives Sheila Klinker and Chris Campbell co-authored a concurrent resolution celebrating the 100th anniversary of the marching band’s participation in the Indianapolis 500 festivities. In addition to acknowledging the band’s debut performance at the race in 1919, the resolution pointed out that the band has appeared in every nationally televised Indianapolis Power and Light Indy 500 Festival Parade since its 1957 debut. Jay and band representatives Mark Jones, Aaron Yoder, and Caitlin Benner were honored on the floor of the Indiana House when Klinker introduced the resolution on April 4.

Also on April 4, Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett’s office proclaimed that race day, May 26, will be “Purdue University ‘All-American’ Marching Band Day” in the city.

Congratulations, Professor Gephart and marching band members!

David's Signature

David A. Reingold
Justin S. Morrill Dean
College of Liberal Arts