Skip to main content

March - Derek Pacheco and Yvonne Pitts

Please join me in congratulating Derek Pacheco, associate professor of English, and Yvonne Pitts, associate professor of history, for being named as recipients of the 2019 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy.

The Murphy Award – named in honor of Charles Murphy, a Purdue history professor from 1927 to 1970 – is Purdue’s highest undergraduate teaching honor. Its winners receive a $10,000 cash award and induction into the Teaching Academy at Purdue University.

Faculty with the rank of associate or full professor are eligible, and the university recognizes up to six winners across campus each spring. Derek and Yvonne were surprised with the news on Tuesday.

They will be recognized along with the winners of the Murphy Award, the Exceptional Early Career Award, and the Excellence in Instruction Award for Continuing Lecturers at an invitation-only luncheon on April 8.

Congratulations, Derek and Yvonne!

David's Signature

David A. Reingold
Justin S. Morrill Dean
College of Liberal Arts