Skip to main content

Christopher Yeomans

Please join me in congratulating Christopher Yeomans, head of philosophy, for being named a University Faculty Scholar.

The University Faculty Scholars Program recognizes outstanding faculty members – either tenured associate or full professors – who are on an accelerated path for academic distinction. Faculty Scholars are appointed for a non-renewable, five-year term and receive an annual $10,000 discretionary allocation.

Chris joined the philosophy department in 2009 and became the department head in 2017. In that capacity, he has secured resources to support faculty research, increased travel support for graduate students, and created four postdoc positions in the department. As chair of the CLA Core Renewal Committee, he successfully passed the CLA Core Waiver for dual-degree students whose primary major is in another college. In addition, the number of students majoring in philosophy increased by 20% in his first two semesters as department head.

As one of the leading experts on Hegel and German Idealism, Chris is also a distinguished scholar. Following the publication of his books Freedom and Reflection: Hegel and the Logic of Agency (Oxford University Press, 2011) and The Expansion of Autonomy: Hegel’s Pluralistic Philosophy of Action (Oxford University Press, 2015), he has become a sought-after speaker around the world. During the 2017-18 school year, he was invited for speaking engagements in the U.S., United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, Belgium, and Italy. Chris also recently signed a book contract with Routledge Press for a monograph on political philosophy, due next year.

Congratulations, Professor Yeomans!

David's Signature

David A. Reingold
Justin S. Morrill Dean
College of Liberal Arts