Skip to main content

F. Robert Sabol

Please join me in congratulating F. Robert Sabol, professor of art education in the Patti & Rusty Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance, for winning the 2018 Indiana Governor’s Arts Award.

Gov. Eric Holcomb, wife Janet, and the Indiana Arts Commission will present Bob and four other recipients with the award on Oct. 19 in Fort Wayne. The ceremony will air by tape delay on Fort Wayne’s PBS-39, which will make the broadcast available for statewide PBS broadcast.

The IAC has presented the Governor’s Arts Award every other year dating back to 1973. The award recognizes individuals, organizations, partnerships, businesses, and communities for significant contributions to the arts. Bob is believed to be the first Purdue-affiliated recipient of the award, and he is also the first art educator/researcher to win.

Previous recipients of the Governor’s Arts Award include notables such as Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., Robert Indiana, Sydney Pollock, Crystal Gayle, David Baker, George Rickey, Jim Davis, Rudy Pozzatti, Bill Blass, Joshua Bell, Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, Janos Starker, Karl Malden, Cole Porter, Hoagland Carmichael, and Wes Montgomery, among others.

Joining Bob as 2018 recipients are dancer, choreographer, director, and author Twyla Tharp (a former resident of Portland); arts entrepreneur Rami Sadek and LangLab (South Bend); the Sydney & Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art at Indiana University (Bloomington); and philanthropists Gayle and the late Bill Cook (Bloomington). Addison Agen of Fort Wayne, the 2017 runner-up on the NBC talent competition The Voice, will also perform and receive special recognition at the ceremony.

Congratulations, Professor Sabol!

David's Signature

David A. Reingold
Justin S. Morrill Dean
College of Liberal Arts