Skip to main content

Book of Great Teachers honorees

Please join me in congratulating six outstanding College of Liberal Arts faculty members for being selected for induction into the Purdue University Book of Great Teachers.

Professors Dorsey Armstrong (English), Carol Cunningham-Sigman (Design, Art, and Performance), Melanie Morgan (Communication), Leigh Raymond (Political Science), Anthony Silva (English), and John Sundquist (Languages and Cultures) were among the 45 faculty members honored at a Dec. 11 induction ceremony at the Purdue Memorial Union's South Ballroom.

The Book of Great Teachers, which recognizes sustained excellence in teaching and scholarship, is among the most notable internal honors for Purdue’s finest educators. The nomination process for the honor occurs every five years, with the last induction ceremony being held in 2013.

Purdue's Book of Great Teachers was dedicated in 1999, and 384 distinguished faculty members have been recognized since then. The College of Liberal Arts has had more than 70 professors inducted. Each faculty member’s name is listed on a permanent bronze-and-walnut display in the PMU's west foyer.

Congratulations, Book of Great Teachers honorees!

David's Signature

David A. Reingold
Justin S. Morrill Dean
College of Liberal Arts