Skip to main content
Loading

History Directory


Faculty

Name Title(s) Research/Focus Email Room
David Atkinson Associate Professor American Foreign Relations, Global Migration History, International History, American and British Imperial History atkinsod@purdue.edu BRNG 6180
Ekaterina Babintseva Assistant Professor History of Science and Technology in the 20th Century ebabints@purdue.edu BRNG 6178
Andrew Bellisari Assistant Professor  
Tithi Bhattacharya Associate Professor South Asian History, Social Reproduction Theory, Feminism, Gender and Sexuality, Marxist theory, Empire tbhattac@purdue.edu BRNG 6176
Dorothee Bouquet Senior Lecturer   dbouquet@purdue.edu
Kathryn Cramer Brownell Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Education
U.S. Political History brownell@purdue.edu BRNG 6174
Cornelius Bynum Associate Professor   clbynum@purdue.edu Primary: BRNG 6168; Secondary: UNIV 024
Huiying Chen Assistant Professor Chinese History, Early Modern History chenhy@purdue.edu BRNG 6158
Austin Cooper Assistant Professor Contemporary International History, History of Science and Technology cooperar@purdue.edu BRNG 6132
Frederick Rowe Davis Department Head
Professor
R. Mark Lubbers Chair in the History of Science
History of Science, Environmental History frdavis@purdue.edu BRNG 6104
Christopher Ewing Assistant Professor Modern European History/LGBTQ History cbewing@purdue.edu BRNG 6130
Deborah L. Fleetham Clinical Associate Professor Modern European History, German History, History of Religion fleetham@purdue.edu BRNG 6148
Jennifer L. Foray Associate Professor   jforay@purdue.edu BRNG 6148
Ariel de la Fuente Professor   delafuen@purdue.edu BRNG 6164
William G. Gray Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Modern Germany, International History, History of Capitalism wggray@purdue.edu BRNG 6152
Stacy E. Holden Associate Professor Modern Middle East and North Africa, US Relations with the Arab World sholden@purdue.edu BRNG 6166
R. Douglas Hurt Professor   doughurt@purdue.edu BRNG 6159
Tina Irvine Assistant Professor Modern U.S. History tirvine@purdue.edu BRNG 6114
Kathryn Maxson Jones Assistant Professor Neuroscience, Biology, AI kmaxson@purdue.edu BRNG 6118
T. Cole Jones Associate Professor American Revolution, Colonial America colejones@purdue.edu BRNG 6160
Rebekah A. Klein-Pejšová Associate Professor Human Rights History, Modern Jewish History, Modern (East Central) European History rkleinpe@purdue.edu BRNG 6156
Wendy Kline Dema G. Seelye Chair in the History of Medicine
Professor
History of Medicine in the U.S., History of Women's Health wkline@purdue.edu BRNG 6110
Michelle LaBonte Assistant Professor History of Medicine mlabonte@purdue.edu BRNG 6122
Jonathan Lande Assistant Professor African American History, Military History, History of Race jlande@purdue.edu BRNG 6126
Zachary Loeb Assistant Professor Computing, Cybersecurity, Technology, Disasters zloeb@purdue.edu BRNG 6116
Dawn G. Marsh Associate Professor Native American and Indigenous History dmarsh@purdue.edu BRNG 6108
Silvia Z. Mitchell Associate Professor Early Modern Europe, Spanish Monarchy mitch131@purdue.edu BRNG 6120
John Mulhall Assistant Professor   jmulhall@purdue.edu BRNG 6134
Yvonne M. Pitts Associate Professor American Legal and Constitutional History, Citizenship, Sexual Regulation ypitts@purdue.edu BRNG 6128
Randy W. Roberts 150th Anniversary Professor and Distinguished Professor   rroberts@purdue.edu BRNG 6172
Michael G. Smith Professor   mgsmith@purdue.edu BRNG 6170
Spencer Stewart Assistant Professor Digital History, Modern China, Agricultural and Enviromental History stewa443@purdue.edu STEW 155
Margaret Mih Tillman Associate Professor   mmtillman@purdue.edu BRNG 6154
Subodhana (Subo) Wijeyeratne Assistant Professor History of Science, History of East Asia swijeyer@purdue.edu BRNG 6124
Melinda S. Zook Germaine Seelye Oesterle Professor
Assistant Department Head
Early Modern European History, Tudor-Stuart England, Political Thought and Culture, Women and Gender mzook@purdue.edu BRNG 6162

Associate Teaching Professor

Name Research/Focus Email Room
William White Associate Teaching Professor   white660@purdue.edu BRNG 2274G

Limited Term Lecturer

Name Research/Focus Email Room
Devan Lindey Limited Term Lecturer American Legal and Constitutional History, Political History, Educational History dlindey@purdue.edu
Meredith K. Tuttle Stukey Limited Term Lecturer  Imperial Russian History, European Monarchies, Transnational Diplomatic and Cultural History tuttle13@purdue.edu

Staff

Name Title(s) Email Room
Lee Hua Chiang Lead Administrative Assistant chiang47@purdue.edu BRNG 6104
O.T. Ford Academic Program Manager
Graduate Advisor
Schedule Deputy
otford@purdue.edu BRNG 6104
Nina J. Haberer Senior Academic Advisor haberern@purdue.edu BRNG 1114
Melissa Jones Business Assistant Remote
Alex South Administrative Assistant apsouth@purdue.edu BRNG 6104

Graduate Student

Name Research/Focus Email Room
Ryan Barker Graduate Student   barker75@purdue.edu SCHM 401
Erin Barr Graduate Student   barr37@purdue.edu SCHM 403
Vipanchika Sahasri Bhagyanagar Graduate Student   vipanchi@purdue.edu SCHM 405
Keri Blair Graduate Student   blair75@purdue.edu SCHM 401
Srishti Dutta Chowdhury Graduate Student   sduttach@purdue.edu SCHM 403
Aline Coutinho Graduate Student   acoutinh@purdue.edu SCHM 420
Lama Elsharif Graduate Student   lelshari@purdue.edu
Andrea Ens Graduate Student   aens@purdue.edu SCHM 422
Caroline Fish Graduate Student   fish9@purdue.edu SCHM 402
Ignatius Gyapong Graduate Student   igyapong@purdue.edu SCHM 405
Tyler Herber Graduate Student   herber0@purdue.edu
John Huggins Graduate Student   jhuggins@purdue.edu SCHM 404
Shelby Jones Graduate Student   jones2354@purdue.edu SCHM 421
Anisha Kar Graduate Student   kar7@purdue.edu SCHM 419
Cathy Kerton-Johnson Graduate Student   skertonj@purdue.edu SCHM 404
Xuening Kong Graduate Student   kong58@purdue.edu SCHM 402
Samuel Leibovsky Graduate Student   sleibovs@purdue.edu SCHM 420
Zach Logsdon Graduate Student   zlogsdon@purdue.edu SCHM 402
Jacob Mach Graduate Student   jmach@purdue.edu SCHM 420
Stefano Palermo Graduate Student   palstef@purdue.edu SCHM 419
Secret Permenter Graduate Student   sperment@purdue.edu SCHM 404
Angela Potter Graduate Student   anbowen@purdue.edu
Abby Riehl Graduate Student   riehla@purdue.edu SCHM 405
Amanda J. Rumba Graduate Student   reason@purdue.edu
Collin Schnakenberg Graduate Student   cschnak@purdue.edu SCHM 405
Jonathan Dean Soucek Graduate Student   jsoucek@purdue.edu SCHM 422
Adam Taylor Graduate Student   taylo810@purdue.edu SCHM 421
Alicia Venchuk Graduate Student   avenchuk@purdue.edu SCHM 422
Annalise Walkama Graduate Student   awalkama@purdue.edu
Mindy Williams Graduate Student   will2146@purdue.edu SCHM 404

Emeriti Faculty

Name Research/Focus Email Room
John J. Contreni European Middle Ages contreni@purdue.edu
Susan Curtis   curtis@purdue.edu
Charles Cutter   cutter@purdue.edu
Raymond E. Dumett   rdumett@purdue.edu
James R. Farr   jrfarr@purdue.edu
Nancy Gabin   ngabin@purdue.edu
Sally A. Hastings   sahnolte@purdue.edu
Patrick J. Hearden   phearden@purdue.edu
Charles W. Ingrao   ingrao@purdue.edu
Franklin T. Lambert   flambert@purdue.edu
John L. Larson   larsonjl@purdue.edu
Lois N. Magner   magnerln@aol.com
Robert E. May Southern History, American Expansionism mayr@purdue.edu
Jon C. Teaford   teaford@purdue.edu
A. Whitney Walton   awhitney@purdue.edu

Administration

Name Title(s) Research/Focus Email Room
Kathryn Cramer Brownell Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Education
U.S. Political History brownell@purdue.edu BRNG 6174
Frederick Rowe Davis Department Head
Professor
R. Mark Lubbers Chair in the History of Science
History of Science, Environmental History frdavis@purdue.edu BRNG 6104
William G. Gray Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Modern Germany, International History, History of Capitalism wggray@purdue.edu BRNG 6152
Melinda S. Zook Germaine Seelye Oesterle Professor
Assistant Department Head
Early Modern European History, Tudor-Stuart England, Political Thought and Culture, Women and Gender mzook@purdue.edu BRNG 6162

History Library Liaison

Name Research/Focus Email Room
Adriana Harmeyer History Library Liaison   STEW 451
Kristin Leaman History Library Liaison   leamankb@purdue.edu Stewart Center, Room 253