School of Interdisciplinary Studies American StudiesCollege of Liberal Arts

American Studies Directory


Director

Name Room Phone Email
Rayvon Fouché Director // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS // American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Asian American Studies
Director of American Studies // SIS
HEAV, G10 (765) 49-47161 rfouche@purdue.edu

Staff

Name Title(s) Room Phone Email
Andrea Furrer Administrative Assistant // SIS // American Studies
Administrative Assistant // SIS // Asian American Studies
HEAV G008 765-494-7161 furrera@purdue.edu
Brandi J. Plantenga Senior Administrative Assistant // SIS
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // American Studies
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // Comparative Literature
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // Linguistics
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
BRNG 6180 49-69629 bplante@purdue.edu

Faculty

Name Title(s) Room Phone Email
Cheryl Cooky Associate Professor // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
HEAV G5 (765) 496-2857 ccooky@purdue.edu
Rayvon Fouché Director // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS // American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Asian American Studies
Director of American Studies // SIS
HEAV, G10 (765) 49-47161 rfouche@purdue.edu
Shannon McMullen Associate Professor // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
Associate Professor // Rueff School // Art and Design
Associate Professor // Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance
FPRD 202 (765) 494-0160 smcmullen@purdue.edu
Bill Mullen Professor // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Asian American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Global Studies
HEAV G12 (765) 496-2856 bvmullen@purdue.edu
Monica M. Trieu Director // SIS // Asian American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
Associate Professor // SIS // American Studies
HEAV G7 (765) 494-6472 mtrieu@purdue.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Name Room Phone Email
David Atkinson Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Asian American Studies
Director of Graduate Education
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
UNIV 025 (765) 496-2776 atkinsod@purdue.edu
TJ Boisseau Associate Professor // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor of History (Courtesy Appointment) // History
BRNG 6162 765-496-2940 tjboisseau@purdue.edu
Kristina Bross Professor // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS
Director of CLA Honors
HEAV 325B (765) 494-4501 kbross@purdue.edu
Nadia E. Brown Associate Professor // Political Science
Associate Professor // SIS // African American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
University Faculty Scholar // Political Science
Political Science Graduate Recruitment and Admissions Committee Chair // Political Science
BRNG 2232 765-496-3923 brown957@purdue.edu
Kathryn Cramer Brownell Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
UNIV 022 (765) 496-2478 brownell@purdue.edu
Jake Burdick Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
BRNG 4142 (765) 494-4901 burdics@purdue.edu
Marlo D. David Director // SIS // African American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // African American Studies
Associate Professor // English
Associate Professor // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
BRNG 6168/HEAV 204E (765) 494-4177 mdavid@purdue.edu
Joseph C. Dorsey Associate Professor // SIS // African American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Latin American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
BRNG 6172 (765) 494-5680 jdorsey@purdue.edu
John Duvall Margaret Church Distinguished Professor of English; Editor of Modern Fiction Studies // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
HEAV 332B (765) 494-3760 jduvall@purdue.edu
Nancy Gabin Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
UNIV 121 (765) 494-4141 ngabin@purdue.edu
Kim Gallon Assistant Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
UNIV 122 (765) 496-2483 kgallon@purdue.edu
Matthew N Hannah Assistant Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Stewart Center 154 (765) 494-4016 hannah8@purdue.edu
Leonard Harris Professor // Philosophy
Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
BRNG 7121 (765) 496-3860 lharris@purdue.edu
Elizabeth Hoffmann Associate Professor // Sociology
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
STON 351 (765) 496-2225 hoffmanne@purdue.edu
Stacy E. Holden Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SIS // Jewish Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
UNIV 127 sholden@purdue.edu
Jennifer Kaufmann-Buhler Assistant Professor // Rueff School // Art and Design
Assistant Professor // Rueff School // Art History
Assistant Professor // Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
PAO 3159 (765) 494-3059 kaufma10@purdue.edu
Cara Kinnally Associate Professor // SLC // Spanish and Portuguese
Associate Professor // SIS // Latin American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
SC 282 765.494.0397 ckinnall@purdue.edu
Christian Knoeller Professor // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
HEAV 314D (765) 588-7381 knoeller@purdue.edu
Robert Lamb Professor // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
HEAV 435 lambr@purdue.edu; bronxangrybear@gmail.com
Alfred Lopez Professor // English
Associate Head // SIS
Director // SIS // Latin American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
BRNG 6175 (765) 494-5681 alopez@purdue.edu
Christopher Lukasik Associate Professor // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
HEAV 410 (765) 494-6002 clukasik@purdue.edu
Jennifer Freeman Marshall Director // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Director of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // English
BRNG 6156 (765) 49-46295 jlfreem@purdue.edu
Mary X. Mitchell Assistant Professor // History
Courtesy Faculty // Anthropology
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
UNIV 322 mitch279@purdue.edu
Derek Pacheco Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
HEAV 329 (765) 494-8408 dpacheco@purdue.edu
Venetria K. Patton Head // SIS
Professor // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Professor // English
BRNG 6176/HEAV403 (765) 496-9629 vpatton@purdue.edu
Nancy J. Peterson Professor // English
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Professor // SIS
Professor // SIS // Native American and Indigenous Studies
HEAV 120B njp@purdue.edu
Yvonne M. Pitts Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Critical Disability Studies
UNIV 310 (765) 496-2758 ypitts@purdue.edu
Kali Rubaii Assistant Professor // Anthropology
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
REC 301 jrubaii@purdue.edu
Ryan Schneider Associate Professor // English
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
HEAV 122A (765) 494-3748 pschnei@purdue.edu
Kevin Stainback Professor // Sociology
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
STON 340 (765) 494-0938 stainback@purdue.edu
Ronald J. Stephens Professor // SIS // African American Studies
Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
BRNG 6176 765-494-2151 stephe87@purdue.edu
Sharra Vostral Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // Student Services
Affiliated Faculty // College of Engineering // Engineering Education
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Critical Disability Studies
UNIV 307 (765) 494-4132 svostral@purdue.edu
Laura Zanotti Associate Professor // Anthropology
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Latin American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Native American and Indigenous Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
STON 323 (765) 496-7226 lzanotti@purdue.edu
Stephanie Zywicki Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies BRNG 41554 (765) 494-0803 szywicki@purdue.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Room Phone Email
Susan Curtis curtis@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Name Room Phone Email
Jolivette Anderson-Douoning Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 anders50@purdue.edu
Paula D. Ashe Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies paula.ashe@gmail.com
Ozgun Basmaz Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 obasmaz@purdue.edu
Emma Bertolaet Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies Women's Studies/BRNG ebertola@purdue.edu
Rachel Bonini Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G002-C rbonini@purdue.edu
Juanita Crider Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies BCC jcrider@purdue.edu
Yu Dou Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies Bilsland Fellow; Off-Campus Research in AY2020-2021 dou5@purdue.edu
Paige Frazier Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies frazie23@purdue.edu
Stephen Horrocks Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G2D shorroc@purdue.edu
Maria Mears Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies mears1@purdue.edu
Kaylah Morgan Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 morga224@purdue.edu
Jehan Mullin Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies
Ph.D. Candidate // Anthropology
Anthropology/STON mullinj@purdue.edu
Christopher Munt Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies BRNG 6159 munt@purdue.edu
Madelina Nuñez Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 nunez40@purdue.edu
Caitlyn Parker Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 parke345@purdue.edu
Virginia Pleasant Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies ASC/Stewart Center vpleasan@purdue.edu
Malik Raymond Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 raymondm@purdue.edu
Ryan Schnurr Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G003 rschnurr@purdue.edu
Ariel Smith Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 smit3301@purdue.edu
Kadari Taylor-Watson Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies ktaylorw@purdue.edu
Megan Williams Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G001 will1491@purdue.edu
Annagul Yaryyeva Graduate Student // SIS // American Studies HEAV G002-C ayaryeva@purdue.edu

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.