School of Interdisciplinary Studies American StudiesCollege of Liberal Arts

Chester E. Eisinger Awards

2019 Submission Information

Chester E. Eisinger Prize

The Chester E. Eisinger Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellent scholarship among American Studies students. It is named in honor of the founder of American Studies at Purdue, who encouraged such excellence by his example as a scholar and teacher.

The competition for the Eisinger Prize is open to all graduate students in American Studies. Entries should be recent, unpublished essays, including work appearing in one's dissertation, that deal with some aspect of American culture and society. One prize $500 will be awarded during the end-of-the-year American Studies Symposium.

The standard of judgment will be strictly qualitative. All submissions must be entered anonymously and will remain anonymous during evaluation. To insure anonymity, students should omit their names from the manuscript and register their entries when submitting them to the American Studies Program Secretary, Brandi Plantenga (Heavilon Hall, Room G8). All materials must be submitted electronically, if possible by Monday, March 22, 2019.

Chester E. Eisinger Research Award

All Purdue students majoring in American Studies may compete for this award. To do so the student submits a research proposal, no more than five double-spaced pages in length, containing the following components:

  1. A statement of your research problem and its significance.
  2. The names and locations of specific archival or library collections you plan to visit.
  3. A budget.

The award will go to the student whose proposal is deemed most worthy of support by the members of the Eisinger Prize Committee. More than one award may be made, depending on funds available.

The standard of judgment will be strictly qualitative. Submissions are not anonymous. Proposals should be submitted to the American Studies Program Secretary, Brandi Plantenga (Heavilon Hall, Room G8). All materials must be submitted electronically, if possible by Monday, March 22, 2019.


2018 Chester E. Eisinger Prize Award

  • Katje Armentrout

2018 Chester E. Eisinger Research Award

  • Rocío León
  • Jingyi Liu
  • Ariel Smith
  • Stephen Horrocks

2017 Chester E. Eisinger Prize Award

  • Lisa Young

2017 Chester E. Eisinger Research Award

  • Christopher Munt
  • Jennifer Sdunzik
  • Rocío León 

Past Eisinger Research Winners

2016    Sascha Angermann
            Salvador Gutiérrez-Peraza

2015    Kadari Taylor-Watson
            Kera Lovell
            Jennifer Sdunzik

2014    Jennifer Sdunzik
            Pamela Sari
            Arthur Banton
2013    Michelle Carreon
            Jehan Mullin
            Chelsea Stripe

Past Eisinger Prize Winners

2016 - Stephen Horrocks

2015 - Kera Lovell
           Aria Halliday

2014 - Suzanne Clemenz
           Aria Halliday  (Honorable Mention)
           Kera Lovell    (Honorable Mention) 
2013 - Kera N. Lovell
2012 - Lisa Beringer & Pamela Sari
2011 - Lisa Beringer
2010 - Courtney Thompson
2009 - Jamie Hickner 
2008 - Sabine Klein 
2007 - Lee Bebout 
2006 - Brian McCammack 
2005 - Daniel McKay 
2004 - Laura Beadling 
2003 - Megan MacDonald 
2002 - Jay R. Hopler 
2001 - Stephanie S. Turner 
2000 - H. Clark Maddux 
1999 - Christopher C. Elzey and Kevin M. Scott 
1998 - Rebecca R. Saulsbury and Kevin M. Scott 
1997 - Andaluna Borcila 
1996 - Anne Boyd 
1995 - Christine Braunberger 
1994 - Thomas Pendergast 
1993 - Michael Hartford 
1992 - John W. Stauffer 
1991 - Samuel W. White 
1989 - Mary K. Wainwright 
1988 - Jane E. Rose 
1987 - Brian C. Price 
1986 - Brian C. Price and Earl J. Hess 
1985 - Thomas R. Myers 
1984 - Daniel McInerney 
1983 - Lee Quinby 
1982 - Earl J. Hess 
1981 - Lee Quinby and Raymond Maxurek

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2019 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.