Search the College of Liberal Arts directory system:

Faculty

NameContactTitle
Beate I. Allert allert@purdue.edu
SC 256
(765) 494-3865
Professor of German, Comparative Literature, and Film; Director of Graduate Studies/SLC

German and Comparative Literature, esp. 18th and 19th centuries, Enlightenment, Weimar Classicism, Romanticism, Hermeneutics, Critical Theory, Metaphor, Ekphrasis, Visual-Verbal Dynamics, Color Theories, Film studies

Thomas Broden broden@purdue.edu
SC 284
(765) 496-7278
Professor of French

20th Century French literature, especially narrative, semiotics, fashion and modern French culture, history of modern French linguistics

Robert Channon rchannonomni@gmail.com
SC G021
(765) 496-1683
Associate Professor of Russian and Linguistics

Language/Linguistics

Elena Coda ecoda@purdue.edu
SC 146C
(765) 494-3833
Associate Professor of Italian

Nineteenth and Twentieth-Century Italian Literature

Alejandro Cuza acuza@purdue.edu
SC 160
(765) 496-1685
Professor of Spanish and Linguistics, Director of Linguistics

Second Language Acquisition, Child and Adult Bilingual Development, Spanish Morphosyntax and Semantics, Psycholinguistics

Lori A Czerwionka czerwionka@purdue.edu
SC 168
(765) 496-6046
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

My research interests lie broadly in pragmatics, discourse, sociolinguistics, and second language acquisition. Current research projects address discourse organization and the use of discourse markers by native and non-native speakers of Spanish, acquisition of pragmatic norms, and intercultural communication.

Keith Dickson kdickson@purdue.edu
SC G066
(765) 494-3834
Professor of Classics

Greek Literature, Mythology, Ancient medicine, Culture/Civilization

Paul B. Dixon tudobem@purdue.edu
SC 155
(765) 494-3835
Professor of Portuguese and Spanish; PSRL Editor

Literature, literary theory, culture, cinema, comparative literature

Olga Dmitrieva odmitrie@purdue.edu
SC 166
(765) 494-9330
Assistant Professor of Russian and Linguistics

Theoretical and Laboratory Phonology, Acoustic Phonetics, Crosslinguistic Speech Perception, Language Interference in Second Language Acquisition.

Atsushi Fukada afukada@purdue.edu
SC 268
Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

Pragmatics, Japanese Linguistics, Computer-Assisted Language Learning, Foreign Language Education

Patricia Hart phart@purdue.edu
SC 288
(765) 494-3857
Professor of Spanish

Spanish Literature and Film

Kazumi Hatasa khatasa@purdue.edu
SC 286
(765) 494-3846
Professor of Japanese

Japanese Language Education; Computer Instruction

Madeleine M Henry henry48@purdue.edu
SC 146B
(765) 494-3834
Head, School of Languages and Cultures
Wei Hong hongwei@purdue.edu
SC 182
(765) 494-3859
Professor of Applied Linguistics

Chinese Business Language, Culture, Linguistics

John Hope hopej@purdue.edu
SC 192
(765)494-3873
Assistant Professor of Russian
Daniel Hsieh dhsieh@purdue.edu
SC 161
(765) 494-8598
Associate Professor of Chinese; Chair Department of East Asian Languages

Chinese Language; Classical Chinese Literature

Ahmed Idrissi Alami aidrissi@purdue.edu
SC 260
(765) 496-2265
Associate Professor of Arabic; Chair of Arabic, Classics, Hebrew, and Italian (ACHI)

Literature, Comparative Cultural Studies

Yonsoo Kim kim153@purdue.edu
SC 125
(765) 494-3830
Associate Professor of Spanish

Medieval and Golden Age Iberian Literature, Medicine and Literature, Gender Studies, Religious Studies,Text Digitalization, and Disability Studies

Cara Kinnally ckinnall@purdue.edu
SC 282
Assistant Professor of Spanish

19th and early 20th-century Mexican and Mexican American literature; Latino/a studies and literature; border studies; empire studies and (post) colonial theory; critical race theory.

Clotilde Landais clandais@purdue.edu
SC 209
(765) 494-9522
Assistant Professor of French

Fantasy and Horror Fiction (in the American, Quebec and the Caribbean areas)

Literary Translation (theory and practice)

Postmodern and Cognitive theories

Business French

Benjamin Lawton lawton@purdue.edu
SC 139
(765) 494-3860
Associate Professor of Italian; Interim Director of Film & Video Studies; Chair of Italian Studies

Cinema, Medieval and Renaissance studies, Italian/American studies, cultural studies, Italian studies

Paula Leverage leverage@purdue.edu
SC 280
(765) 494-9661
Associate Professor of French

Old French and Occitan literature, Rhetoric, Comparative Literature, Film

Erin Moodie emoodie@purdue.edu
SC 203
Assistant Professor of Classics

Greek and Latin Literature, espcially comedy and satire.

Colleen Neary-Sundquist cnearysu@purdue.edu
SC 172
(765) 494-9365
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

Applied Linguistics

Song No sno1@purdue.edu
SC 188
(765) 494-3866
Associate Professor of Spanish

Latin American colonial literature, transculturation, critical theory

Daniel J. Olson olson42@purdue.edu
SC 178
(765) 494-9387
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

Phonetics and Phonology; Bilingualism, Language Contact, Code switching, and Language switching;  Psycholinguistics and Neurolinguistics

Nicholas K. Rauh rauhn@purdue.edu
SC 211
(765) 496-6079
Professor of Classics
Iñigo Sanchez-Llama sanchezL@purdue.edu
SC 158
(765) 496-2256
Professor of Spanish

Modern and Contemporary Spanish Literature, Women's Writing, Feminist Theory, Canon Formation Theory, Sociology of Literature

Eiji Sekine esekine@purdue.edu
SC G068
(765) 496-2258
Associate Professor of Japanese

Japanese Literature and Literary Theory

Marcia Stephenson mstephen@purdue.edu
SC 266
(765) 494-9531
Associate Professor of Spanish and Women's Studies

Women´s Studies, Latin American literature, 20th century, Andean cultural studies

Dawn F. Stinchcomb Stinchcomb@purdue.edu
SC 162
(765) 496-6082
Associate Professor of Spanish; Chair of Spanish and Portuguese

Afro-Hispanic Literature, Latin American Literatures and Cultures, Hispanic Caribbean Literature

Jessica Sturm jsturm@purdue.edu
SC 186
(765) 496-9692
Associate Professor of French and Applied Linguistics; Chair of French
John Sundquist jsundqui@purdue.edu
SC 170
(765) 496-3936
Associate Professor of German and Linguistics; Chair of German and Russian

Historical Germanic Linguistics, Syntax and Morphology, Language Variation and Change, Second Language Acquisition Theory, Language Pedagogy

Antonia Syson asyson@purdue.edu
SC 123
Associate Professor of Classics

Latin and Ancient Greek Literature, Language, and Pedagogy

Comparative Literature

Social memory

Jeffrey Turco jturco@purdue.edu
SC 262
Assistant Professor of German; Comparative Literature; Medieval and Renaissance Studies; Religious Studies

Medieval German Literature, Old Norse-Icelandic Literature, Germanic Folklore and Mythography, History of Science, Opera Studies, Medieval Italian Literature

Germina N Veldwachter Veldwachter, Germina N
SC 292
494-9685
Associate Professor
Hongjian Wang wang2512@purdue.edu
SC 261
Assistant Professor, Assistant Professor of Chinese, SLC
Mariko Moroishi Wei moroishi@purdue.edu
SC 174
(765) 418-5476
Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

Japanese; Second Language Acquisition; Language Pedagogy; Psycholinguistics

Jennifer William jmwilliam@purdue.edu
SC 190
(765) 494-3833
Professor of German

20th and 21st century literature and film, theory of the novel and narrative, applied cognitive metaphor theory

Allen Wood wooda@purdue.edu
SC 156
(765) 494-3856
Professor of French

Seventeenth century French literature, Moliere, La Fontaine, Business French


Continuing Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Daleth Assad assadd@purdue.edu
SC 257
(765) 496-3988
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish and Portuguese
Lourdes Barranco-Cortes lbarranc@purdue.edu
SC G078
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish
Jason Baumer jbaumer@purdue.edu
SC 210
494-3877
Continuing Lecturer in German; Course Coordinator
Sharon Borkowski sborkow@purdue.edu
PRCE 189
(765) 588-4671
Continuing Lecturer in ASL
Blanca Cabrera de Morales blanca@purdue.edu
SC 278
(765) 496-1691
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Business and Spanish Coordinator
Soufien Jarraya sjarraya@purdue.edu
SC 184
494-3864
Continuing Lecturer in Arabic
Alon Kantor akantor@purdue.edu
SC 109
(765) 494-7691
Continuing Lecturer in Modern Hebrew; Book Review Editor, Shofar
Olga Lyanda-Geller okogan@purdue.edu
SC 180
(765) 494-9390
Continuing Lecturer in Russian

Russian language, Modern Russian literature, Philosophy of Language, History of Language, Linguistics

Elizabeth Mercier eemercie@purdue.edu
SC 204
(765) 496-2262
Continuing Lecturer in Latin and Greek
Annalisa Mosca mosca@purdue.edu
SC 143
(765) 496-2285
Continuing Lecturer in Italian; Course Coordinator; Italian Club Advisor

Italian, Foreign Language Pedagogy and Technology, French

Sayuri Ogiuchi sogiuchi@purdue.edu
SC 274
JPNS Continuing Lecturer
Akiko Ohashi Brennan aohashi@purdue.edu
SC 290
(765) 496-3254
Continuing Lecturer of Japanese Language

Language/Linguistics

Raymond C Olson rcolson@purdue.edu
PRCE 187
(765) 588-4806
Continuing Lecturer in ASL
Kely Paez-Urbano kpaezurb@purdue.edu
SC 105
(765) 494-9258
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Course Coordinator Spanish 301/302
Marc Rathmann mrathman@purdue.edu
SC 272
(765) 494-7647
Continuing Lecturer in German

Business German, German Applied Linguistics

Stuart Robertson roberts5@purdue.edu
SC 270
(765) 494-7691
Continuing Lecturer in Biblical Hebrew

Hebrew Bible, Hellenistic Judaism, Septuagint, Second Temple Judaism, Josephus

Ligia Scott alsscott@purdue.edu
SC 103
(765) 496-6087
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish
Robin A Shay shayra@purdue.edu
PRCE 193
(765) 588-3553
Continuing Lecturer in ASL

ASL 101, 102 and 202, ASL Linguistics, ASL History, De'VIA (Deaf Arts)

Cecilia Tenorio ctenorio@purdue.edu
SC 163
(765) 494-3842
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Program Director for Spanish Level 7 and 8; Translation

Translation and Interpretation.

Susana Venis sivenis@purdue.edu
SC 205
(765) 494-9457
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Spanish Club Advisor

Literature

Alice Wang wanga@purdue.edu
SC G063
(765) 496-6222
Continuing Lecturer in Chinese
Tatiana Babic Williams tbabic@purdue.edu
SC 143
496-2285
Continuing Lecturer in Italian

Visiting Assistant Professor

NameContactTitle
Monica L. O'Neil arnettm@purdue.edu
SC G061
Classics VAP

Emeriti Faculty

NameContactTitle
Paul Benhamou benhamou@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of French

Literature

Zinaida Breschinsky zab@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 494-3864
Professor Emerita of Russian

Literature

Becky Brown bbrown@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus of Linguistics

Language/Linguistics

Wm. Buffington buff@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of Russian
Fritz Cohen cohenfg@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of German
Maria Cooks marcooks@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emerita of Spanish

Language/Linguistics/Culture

David Flory daflory@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Portuguese
Robert Freeman rsfree@purdue.edu
STEW 156
(765) 494-9307
Associate Professor; SLC Bibliographer & Reference Librarian

Literature

Alan Garfinkel alangarf@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 463-7071
Professor Emeritus of Spanish
Robert Hammond hammond@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of Linguistics and Romance Languages

Linguistics, Span Phonetics Phonology & Dialectology, Romance Linguistics, Portuguese Linguistics, French Linguistics

William Hatfield hatfield@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of French
Christiane Keck ckeck@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emerita of German

German Language and Literature

Thomas Kelly kellyt@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 714-9338
Professor Emeritus of French
Howard Mancing mancing@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus of Spanish

Literature, literary theory, Comparative Literature, optics and metaphor, linguistics

Floyd Merrell fmerrell@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 494-9307
Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Semiotics

Latin American literature, semiotic theory, Latin American culture, literary theory

Herbert Rowland hrowland@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of German

Late Eighteenth, early Nineteenth centuries, Goethe, Lessing, Hans Christian Andersen, poetic realism, Danish-German literary relations, Danish-American and German-American literary relations

Leon L. Titche titchel@omni.cc.purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of German

20th century fiction, comparative literature, classical mythology.

Erdmute W White ewhite1@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 494-9307
Professor Emerita of French
Joseph Wipf wipf@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of German and Second Language Acquisition

Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Irina Hinkle ihinkel@purdue.edu
SC 254
lecturer

Limited Term Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Sawsan Awad awads@purdue.edu
PRCE 185
Arabic Lecturer
Brett Bogart bogartb@purdue.edu
SC 254
Limited Term Lecturer in Italian
Lynne M Dahmen ldahmen@purdue.edu
PRCE 185
Limited Term Lecturer in Arabic
Amina Gabrielova gabrielo@purdue.edu
SC G072
Limited Term Lecturer in Russian
Norma Garrido-Saenz nsaenz77@purdue.edu
SC 214
Spanish Limited Term Lecturer
Giuseppina Grande ggrande@purdue.edu
SC G072
LTL
Mathilde Jocteur Monrozier mjocteur@purdue.edu
SC G054
French Limited Term Lecturer
Charlotte Jost jost@purdue.edu
SC G054
Limited Term Lecturer in German
Julie Krogmeier jkrogmei@purdue.edu
SC 213
Limited Term Lecturer in French
Zimfira Madan zmadan@purdue.edu
SC 180
494-9390
Limited Term Lecturer in Russian
Claudia Mueller-Greene cmuelle@purdue.edu

Limited Term Lecturer in German
Mary Jane Olson olson128@purdue.edu
PRCE 184
ASL Limited Term Lecturer
Angela P. Pacheco pachecoa@purdue.edu
SC G5
Spanish Limited Term Lecturer

Angela Pacheco's research interests:

  • Literary studies in Golden Age Century, Miguel de Cervantes, the Renaissance and Baroque period.
  • Genre studies, Spanish Film.
  • Cognitive Psychology, Medicine and Literature.
  • Studies on the History of Dreams, Superstitions, Inquisition, and Religion during the 16th and 17th centuries.
  • Medieval Studies.
  • Hispano-American Literature.
Zhengyu (Jade) Tang tang0@purdue.edu
SC G063
(765) 496-6222
Chinese Limited Term Lecturer
Ana Valero Pena avalerop@purdue.edu
SC 255
496-1679
French Limited Term Lecturer
Carina L Verzi De Zavattieri cverzi@purdue.edu
SC 255
(765) 496-1679
Limited Term Lecturer in Spanish
Zoia Vinogradova zvinogra@purdue.edu
SC G072
French Limited Term Lecturer
Ai-Jen Wann awann@purdue.edu
SC G063
(765) 496-6222
Limited Term Lecturer in Chinese

Visiting Scholars

NameContactTitle
Valdenildo dos Santos vdossant@purdue.edu
SC G023
French Visiting Scholar
Fang Fang fang201@purdue.edu
SC 146F
Visiting Scholar
Nuur Hamad Zahonero nhamadza@purdue.edu
SC G009
Visiting Assistant Professor
Lynne Miles-Morillo mimo@purdue.edu
SC G057
(765) 494-9719
Visiting Assistant Professor in German

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.