Jodi Taylor

Please join me in congratulating Jodi Taylor, Theatre marketing and outreach specialist in the Patti & Rusty Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance, for her selection as the 2020 Community Spirit Award recipient from Purdue’s Management and Professional Staff Advisory Committee (MaPSAC) and Campus Support Staff Advisory Committee (CSSAC).

The Community Spirit Award goes to a management/professional staff members or operational support staff member “who sets a high standard for service, encourages a sustained commitment to civic participation, and inspires others to make service a central part of their lives.”

The committees recognized Jodi for a variety of service activities, including co-founding Greater Lafayette Sewing Masks after the COVID-19 crisis began in March. After helping create the organization, Jodi designed its website and operational processes, allowing the group to manage requests, supplies, and volunteers. She also created a logo and t-shirt for fundraising and, of course, sewed and distributed thousands of masks herself.

Greater Lafayette Sewing Masks has created and distributed more than 50,000 free cloth masks to Tippecanoe County businesses and families. As a leader of the organization, Jodi received both a local and national Jefferson Award for public service.

Jodi also volunteers with and fosters dogs for a local animal shelter, is involved with the Tippecanoe Arts Federation, and assists with a local cancer charity. Having grown up on a Christmas tree farm, where she learned to create and decorate wreaths, Jodi decorates a tree for the Community Cancer Network’s Festival of Trees gala.

Congratulations, Jodi!

David's Signature

David A. Reingold
Justin S. Morrill Dean
College of Liberal Arts

Since my introduction to Purdue Liberal Arts, I have been impressed by the depth and volume of accomplishment among members of the faculty and staff. To that end, this series will celebrate the achievements of our colleagues. When one of us earns recognition, it reflects positively upon each individual, each department, the whole of the College, and the entirety of the University. Collectively, we all benefit from the success of our colleagues, and here, together, we will celebrate the accolades that move this College to new heights of excellence.

- David A. Reingold, Justin S. Morrill Dean of Liberal Arts

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2021 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.