Search the College of Liberal Arts directory system:

Faculty

NameContactTitle
Su'ad Abdul Khabeer sak@purdue.edu
STON 310
(765) 496-3934
Assistant Professor of Anthropology/African American Studies
Myrdene Anderson myanders@purdue.edu
STON 356
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Linguistics

Ethnological theory, linguistics, semiotics, cognitive science, ecological anthropology, ethnobiology, systems theory, critical theory, nonequilibrium dynamics, and philosophy of science.  Lapland, Fennoscandia, circumpolar cultures, regions of pastoralism and nomadism, areas of high latitudes and high altitudes, including Mongolia.

Shimelis Beyene Gebru sgebru@purdue.edu
STON 320
Visiting Assistant Professor
Evelyn Blackwood blackwood@purdue.edu
STON 313
(765) 496-1728
Professor of Anthropology

Gender and sexuality, kinship, self and identity, lesbian identity, transgender studies, women’s same-sex relations, globalization and sexuality, transnational feminisms, feminist theory, social movements, Island Southeast Asia, U.S. LGBT history

Richard Blanton blantonr@purdue.edu
STON 317
(765) 494-4681
Professor of Anthropology; Courtesy Faculty of Political Science

Archaeology, economic anthropology, regional analysis, political anthropology, cross-cultural analysis, theory.

Sherylyn Briller sbriller@purdue.edu
STON 316
(765) 494-4683
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Aging, life course, disability, end-of-life issues and global health.

Michele Buzon mbuzon@purdue.edu
STON 314
(765) 494-4680
Associate Professor of Anthropology

bioarchaeology, paleopathology, culture contact, biological and ethnic identity, environmental stress, Nile Valley

H. Kory Cooper hkcooper@purdue.edu
STON 322A
(765) 496-7430
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Materials Engineering

Technology and Innovation, Archaeology and Ethnohistory of Northwest North America, Hunter-Gatherers, Social Complexity, Archaeometallurgy, E-Waste

Ellen Gruenbaum gruenbaum@purdue.edu
STON 219
(765) 496-7422
Department Head - Professor of Anthropology

Women’s health issues, gender, religious practices, and development in Africa and the Middle East.

Jennifer Lee Johnson jlj@purdue.edu
STON 219E
(765) 496-7244
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

multispecies ethnography | anthrohistory | feminist political ecology | African studies | environmental justice   science and technology studies | marine and freshwater fisheries | eastern Africa | U.S. Great Lakes

Brian C. Kelly bckelly@purdue.edu
STON 328
765-496-3616
Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology

medical sociology; deviance; substance use; youth cultures; sexuality

Ian Lindsay ilindsay@purdue.edu
STON 312
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Origins of political complexity; ceramic analysis; landscapes as media for political authority; household archaeology; political economy; Caucasus

Riall Nolan rwnolan@purdue.edu
STON 219
(765) 496-2014
Professor of Anthropology

International development, cross-cultural adaptation, and applied anthropology.

Zoe Nyssa znyssa@purdue.edu
STON 219D
765-494-8322
Assistant Professor

Environmental policy and practice, biodiversity conservation, climate change, science and technology, applied anthropology, future making, global challenges, mixed methods, epistemology and ethics, environmental history, risk.

Erik Otárola-Castillo eoc@purdue.edu
STON 219C
765-494-2443
Instructor

Evolution, ecology and diversity of behavior in prehistoric and modern populations of hunter-gatherers; effects that climatic change, variation of food-availability and-distribution had on the diet of some of the first North American native populations.

Fileve Palmer fpalmer@purdue.edu
STON 311A
Visiting Assistant Professor
Melissa Remis remism@purdue.edu
STON 315/BRNG 1290P
(765)494-3665
Professor of Anthropology

Africa; Central African Republic; Biological Anthropology: Primate Ecology and Behavior; Human Ecology; Nutrition; Conservation Biology; Hunter-gatherers; Environment; Sustainable Development; Ecology; Wildlife; Gender.  

Elizabeth Rowe ejrowe@purdue.edu
STON 311A
Visiting Assistant Professor

biological anthropology, menstruation, women’s reproductive health, gene-environment interactions

LaShandra Sullivan sulli146@purdue.edu
STON 311
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Expansion of agribusiness in Brazil and resulting conflicts with land reform based social movements.

Amanda Veile aveile@purdue.edu
STON 311 (Lab: Stone153)
(765) 496-7400
Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology

Evolutionary, nutritional, reproductive, and behavioral ecology of modern humans.

Laura Zanotti lzanotti@purdue.edu
STON 323
Associate Professor of Anthropology

feminist political ecology, space and place, decolonizing and collaborative methodologies, digital anthropology, communities and conservation


Adjunct Faculty

NameContactTitle
Bryce A. Carlson bryce@purdue.edu
STON 219C
Adjunct Faculty
Kevin Vaughn kjvaughn@purdue.edu

Adjunct Faculty
Sharon Williams srw@purdue.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Human Biology; Reproductive Ecology; Adaptation, Aging and Health; Biomedical Anthropology; Psychosocial Stress and Health; Indigenous populations of N.E. India; Field Methods in Human Biology Research; Laboratory Analysis of Biological Samples.


Courtesy Faculty

NameContactTitle
Kimberly Marion Suiseeya kmarions@purdue.edu

Adjunct Faculty, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Northwestern University

Environmental Policy


Limited Term Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Kalliopi Christodoulaki cchristodoulakis@aol.com
STON B10
Limited Term Lecturer
Ryan Plis rcplis@purdue.edu
STON 219B
Limited Term Lecturer

Gender, psychological anthropology, pop culture, media, sexuality, and identity.

Brandi Wren bwren@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate

Visiting Scholars

NameContactTitle
Lane Fargher lfargher@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate
El Hassan Ahmed Mohammed emohamme@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate
Karen Lorena Romero Leal kromerol@purdue.edu

Visiting Undergraduate Research Student

Social representations about Amazon region, cultural consumption, intercultural practices, social and political participation.

Katherine B. Smith smith710@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate

Staff

NameContactTitle
Jill M. Aldridge jaldridg@purdue.edu
STON 219
(765) 496-7400
Secretary
Sandy Bohl bohls@purdue.edu
STON 326D
(765) 494-4671
Account Clerk
Sue Hume Graham sgraham@purdue.edu
BRNG 1114
(765) 494-3670
Anthropology Academic Advisor
Brenda Gunion gunion@purdue.edu
STON 219A
(765) 494-4672
Assistant to the Head\Schedule Deputy
Talin Lindsay tlindsay@purdue.edu
STON 326C
(765) 496-7428
Graduate Secretary
Heather Underwood hunderwo@purdue.edu
STON 326D
(765) 494-4671
Business Manager

Teaching Assistants

NameContactTitle
Humera Dinar hdinar@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Matthew Fuka mfuka@purdue.edu
STON 218
Graduate Student
Alison Kirkham akirkha@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Michelle Miller mill1543@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Lauren Murfree lmurfree@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Ingrid Ramon Parra iramonpa@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Gideon Singer gsinger@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student

Electronic waste in the United States and Australia

Melissa Torquato motrquat@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Sunny Trivedi trivedi1@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Linguistic and sociocultural anthropology, racialization, race and ethnicity, language ideologies, immigration, diasporas, language and identity

Madisson Whitman mwhitma@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student

Gender and sexuality, identity and subjectivity, digital ethnography, and critical data studies

Nicole York yorkn@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Graduate Students

NameContactTitle
Sarah Caldwell caldwe13@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Erika Carrillo carrile@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Humera Dinar hdinar@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Jonas Ecke jecke@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Matthew Fuka mfuka@purdue.edu
STON 218
Graduate Student
Elizabeth Hall hall232@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Gorilla conservation and human health in West and Central Africa focusing on the interaction between wildlife and humans in the region

Sarah Huang huang727@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Garett Hunt huntg@purdue.edu
STON B9
Graduate Student

Archaeology, specifically in regards to archaeometric analytical techniques of geochemical characterization

Benjamin Jackson jacks326@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Alison Kirkham akirkha@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Michelle Miller mill1543@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Lauren Murfree lmurfree@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Matthew Pike pike3@purdue.edu
STON B-9
Graduate Student
Marcela Poirier mpoirier@purdue.edu
STON 218
Graduate Student
Kristen Quade kquade@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Environmental conservation, and especially the effectiveness of education programs being used by government organizations

Ingrid Ramon Parra iramonpa@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Dustin Roggenburg droggenb@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Kaitlyn Sanders Sande142@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Savannah Schulze sschulze@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Gideon Singer gsinger@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student

Electronic waste in the United States and Australia

Melissa Torquato motrquat@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Sunny Trivedi trivedi1@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Linguistic and sociocultural anthropology, racialization, race and ethnicity, language ideologies, immigration, diasporas, language and identity

Madisson Whitman mwhitma@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student

Gender and sexuality, identity and subjectivity, digital ethnography, and critical data studies

Katie Whitmore kwhitmo@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Bioarchaeology 

Conner Wiktorowicz cwiktoro@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Elizabeth Wirtz wirtz@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student
Maria Wundram Pimentel mwundram@purdue.edu
STON B1
Graduate Student

Uses and potential of visual arts, theatre and music, in supporting social movements and increasing individual and group empowerment, groups working with sexuality and abuse in Latin America, mortuary rites, relationship with the dead, and the uses of folklore in the creation of nation-brands.

Nicole York yorkn@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2016 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.