View Full Site

Purdue University Visiting Writers Series, 2014-2015

Sponsored by the MFA Program in Creative Writing, the English Department, the Thomas H. Scholl Fund and the College of Liberal Arts.

Spring 2015

Rose McLarney
Wednesday, February 18, 7:30 p.m.
Krannert Auditorium, Room 140

Bonnie Jo Campbell
Fiction Reading
Tuesday, March 3, 7:30 p.m.
Krannert Auditorium, Room 140

Allison Funk
Tuesday, March 10, 7:30 p.m.
Krannert Auditorium, Room 140

Adam McOmber
Tuesday, March 24, 7:30 p.m.
Krannert Auditorium, Room 140

Alice Friman
Thursday April 2, 7:30 p.m.
Krannert Auditorium, Room 140

Numerous Visiting Writer events are in the works for spring, but mark your calendars for April 15, 84th Annual Literary Awards featuring Roz Chast. More information to follow.

History of Purdue Literary Awards and Visiting Writers

Literary Awards has been an institution at Purdue since 1928. Speakers have included: Sherwood Anderson, Tennessee Williams, Thornton Wilder, Eudora Welty, Robert Frost, Katharine Ann Porter, Saul Bellow, Gwendolyn Brooks, John Ashbery, Grace Paley, Adrienne Rich, Edward Albee, Derek Walcott, Louise Erdrich, Russell Banks, Seamus Heaney, Tony Kushner, Charles Wright, Maxine Hong Kingston, Sherman Alexie, Michael Chabon, Rita Dove, Annie Proulx, Charles Simic and Michael Cunningham. For more information about Literary Awards, please visit:

Recent Visiting Writers to the MFA program have included: Brigit Pegeen Kelly, Li-Young Lee, Edward P. Jones, Russell Edson, Andre Dubus III, Alicia Ostriker, Quan Barry, Michael Martone, Heather McHugh, Steve Yarbrough, Ellen Bryant Voigt, Denise Duhamel, Charles Baxter, Joyce Carol Oates, Adam Zagajewski, Peter Ho Davies, Jane Hamilton, Lan Samantha Chang, A. Van Jordan, Carl Phillips, Helena María Viramontes, Natasha Trethewey, Dorothy Allison, Dan Chaon, Julie Otsuka, Maurice Manning, Edith Pearlman, Jess Walter, Terrance Hayes and Antonya Nelson.


For questions regarding the Purdue University Visiting Writers Series, please contact Reading Series Coordinator Rebecca McKanna.