Skip to main content

Organization of the University

Purdue University is administered by a 10-member Board of Trustees appointed by the governor.  Responsibilities of the board include selection of the University president, establishment of University policies, approval of the budget, and appointment of personnel. Within the academic sector of the University, the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Diversity serves as the chief academic officer. The provost has responsibility for instruction, research, engagement, lifelong learning, student services, the graduate school, the libraries, information technology, and international programs. Deans of the 10 academic colleges/schools report to the provost along with vice presidents and vice provosts overseeing the operations listed above.

A University Senate, which consists of 100 members, shares in campus governance of the University. The College of Liberal Arts (CLA) currently has 13 seats on the University Senate; faculty members are elected to the senate by their peers. Much of the work of the University Senate is accomplished through its standing committees: Advisory, Educational Policy, Faculty Affairs, Nominating, Steering, Student Affairs, and University Resources Policy. Click here for additional information about the operation of the University Senate.