Spanish & Portuguese School of Languages and Cultures
Search the College of Liberal Arts directory system:

Faculty

NameContactTitle
Alejandro Cuza acuza@purdue.edu
SC 160
(765) 496-1685
Professor of Spanish and Linguistics, Director of Linguistics

Second Language Acquisition, Child and Adult Bilingual Development, Spanish Morphosyntax and Semantics, Psycholinguistics

Lori A Czerwionka czerwionka@purdue.edu
SC 168
(765) 496-6046
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

My research interests lie broadly in pragmatics, discourse, sociolinguistics, and second language acquisition. Current research projects address discourse organization and the use of discourse markers by native and non-native speakers of Spanish, acquisition of pragmatic norms, and intercultural communication.

Paul B. Dixon tudobem@purdue.edu
SC 155
(765) 494-3835
Professor of Portuguese and Spanish; PSRL Editor

Literature, literary theory, culture, cinema, comparative literature

Patricia Hart phart@purdue.edu
SC 288
(765) 494-3857
Professor of Spanish

Spanish Literature and Film

Yonsoo Kim kim153@purdue.edu
SC 125
(765) 494-3830
Associate Professor of Spanish

Medieval and Golden Age Iberian Literature, Medicine and Literature, Gender Studies, Religious Studies,Text Digitalization, and Disability Studies

Cara Kinnally ckinnall@purdue.edu
SC 282
Assistant Professor of Spanish

19th and early 20th-century Mexican and Mexican American literature; Latino/a studies and literature; border studies; empire studies and (post) colonial theory; critical race theory.

Colleen Neary-Sundquist cnearysu@purdue.edu
SC 172
(765) 494-9365
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

Applied Linguistics

Song No sno1@purdue.edu
SC 188
(765) 494-3866
Associate Professor of Spanish

Latin American colonial literature, transculturation, critical theory

Daniel J. Olson olson42@purdue.edu
SC 178
(765) 494-9387
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

Phonetics and Phonology; Bilingualism, Language Contact, Code switching, and Language switching;  Psycholinguistics and Neurolinguistics

Iñigo Sanchez-Llama sanchezL@purdue.edu
SC 158
(765) 496-2256
Professor of Spanish

Modern and Contemporary Spanish Literature, Women's Writing, Feminist Theory, Canon Formation Theory, Sociology of Literature

Marcia Stephenson mstephen@purdue.edu
SC 266
(765) 494-9531
Associate Professor of Spanish and Women's Studies

Women´s Studies, Latin American literature, 20th century, Andean cultural studies

Dawn F. Stinchcomb Stinchcomb@purdue.edu
SC 162
(765) 496-6082
Associate Professor of Spanish; Chair of Spanish and Portuguese

Afro-Hispanic Literature, Latin American Literatures and Cultures, Hispanic Caribbean Literature


Continuing Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Daleth Assad assadd@purdue.edu
SC 257
(765) 496-3988
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish and Portuguese
Lourdes Barranco-Cortes lbarranc@purdue.edu
SC G078
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish
Blanca Cabrera de Morales blanca@purdue.edu
SC 278
(765) 496-1691
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Business and Spanish Coordinator
Kely Paez-Urbano kpaezurb@purdue.edu
SC 105
(765) 494-9258
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Course Coordinator Spanish 301/302
Ligia Scott alsscott@purdue.edu
SC 103
(765) 496-6087
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish
Cecilia Tenorio ctenorio@purdue.edu
SC 163
(765) 494-3842
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Program Director for Spanish Level 7 and 8; Translation

Translation and Interpretation.

Susana Venis sivenis@purdue.edu
SC 205
(765) 494-9457
Continuing Lecturer in Spanish; Spanish Club Advisor

Literature


Emeriti Faculty

NameContactTitle
Maria Cooks marcooks@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emerita of Spanish

Language/Linguistics/Culture

David Flory daflory@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Portuguese
Alan Garfinkel alangarf@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 463-7071
Professor Emeritus of Spanish
Robert Hammond hammond@purdue.edu
SC 146G
Professor Emeritus of Linguistics and Romance Languages

Linguistics, Span Phonetics Phonology & Dialectology, Romance Linguistics, Portuguese Linguistics, French Linguistics

Howard Mancing mancing@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus of Spanish

Literature, literary theory, Comparative Literature, optics and metaphor, linguistics

Floyd Merrell fmerrell@purdue.edu
SC 146G
(765) 494-9307
Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Semiotics

Latin American literature, semiotic theory, Latin American culture, literary theory


Limited Term Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Norma Garrido-Saenz nsaenz77@purdue.edu
SC 214
Spanish Limited Term Lecturer
Angela P. Pacheco pachecoa@purdue.edu
SC G5
Spanish Limited Term Lecturer

Angela Pacheco's research interests:

  • Literary studies in Golden Age Century, Miguel de Cervantes, the Renaissance and Baroque period.
  • Genre studies, Spanish Film.
  • Cognitive Psychology, Medicine and Literature.
  • Studies on the History of Dreams, Superstitions, Inquisition, and Religion during the 16th and 17th centuries.
  • Medieval Studies.
  • Hispano-American Literature.
Carina L Verzi De Zavattieri cverzi@purdue.edu
SC 255
(765) 496-1679
Limited Term Lecturer in Spanish

Visiting Scholars

NameContactTitle
Nuur Hamad Zahonero nhamadza@purdue.edu
SC G009
Visiting Assistant Professor

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.