Search the College of Liberal Arts directory system:

Faculty

NameContactTitle
Myrdene Anderson myanders@purdue.edu
STON 356
(765) 494-4687
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Linguistics

Ethnological Theory, Linguistics, Semiotics, Cognitive Science, Ecology, Systems Theory, Nonequilibrium Dynamics, and Philosophy of Science.  Lapland, Fennoscandia, Circumpolar Cultures, Regions of Pastoralism and Nomadism, Areas of High Latitudes and High Altitudes.

Sherylyn Briller sbriller@purdue.edu
STON 317
(765) 494-4683
Graduate Director, Associate Professor of Anthropology

Dr. Sherylyn Briller is an applied cultural/medical anthropologist specializing in aging, life course, disability, end-of-life issues and global health. 

Michele Buzon mbuzon@purdue.edu
STON 314
(765) 494-4680
Professor of Anthropology

bioarchaeology, paleopathology, culture contact, biological and ethnic identity, environmental stress, Nile Valley

H. Kory Cooper hkcooper@purdue.edu
STON 322A
(765) 496-7430
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Materials Engineering

Technology and Innovation, Archaeology and Ethnohistory of Northwest North America, Hunter-Gatherers, Social Complexity, Archaeometallurgy, E-Waste

Andrew Flachs aflachs@purdue.edu
STON 219C
765-494-2774
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Environmental Anthropology, Political Ecology, Agriculture, Qualitative Methods, Food Studies, Ethnobiology, Alternative Agriculture including Genetically Modified Organisms and Organic agriculture, South Asia, North America, Eastern Europe

 

Ellen Gruenbaum gruenbaum@purdue.edu
STON 219
(765) 496-7422
Department Head - Professor of Anthropology

Women’s health issues, human rights, gender, religious practices, and development in Africa and the Middle East.

Jennifer Lee Johnson jlj@purdue.edu
STON 316
(765) 496-7244
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

multispecies ethnography | anthrohistory | science and technology studies | feminist political ecology | African studies | environmental justice | marine and freshwater fisheries | eastern Africa | U.S. Great Lakes

Ian Lindsay ilindsay@purdue.edu
STON 313
(765)-496-7254
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Origins of political complexity; ceramic analysis; landscapes as media for political authority; household archaeology; political economy; Caucasus

Stacy M. Lindshield slindshi@purdue.edu
STON 219E
(765) 494-5008
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

primate behavior, ecology, nutrition, conservation, hunting, food sharing, tool use, biological corridors, ethnoprimatology, predation, competition, Senegal, Costa Rica

Riall Nolan rwnolan@purdue.edu
STON 219
(765) 496-2014
Professor of Anthropology

International development, cross-cultural adaptation, and applied anthropology.

Zoe Nyssa znyssa@purdue.edu
STON 219D
765-494-8322
Assistant Professor

 Expert and technical cultures, environmental/climate policy and practice, anthropology of science and technology, applied anthropology, organizational strategy, future making, global challenges, computational and mixed methods, epistemology and ethics, risk.

Erik Otárola-Castillo eoc@purdue.edu
STON 312
765-494-2443
Assistant Professor

Evolution, ecology and diversity of behavior in prehistoric and modern populations of hunter-gatherers; effects that climatic change, variation of food-availability and-distribution had on the diet of some of the first North American native populations.

Fileve Palmer fpalmer@purdue.edu
STON 320
Visiting Assistant Professor

Racial identity and community relations, identity formation, indigenous rights, sovereignty, the history of European colonization and creolization, decolonizing yoga, spiritual philosophy, representation, photography, and comparative international education regional focus South Africa, the United States, and Indian Country.  

Melissa Remis remism@purdue.edu
STON 315/BRNG 1290P
(765)494-3665
Professor of Anthropology

Africa; Central African Republic; Biological Anthropology: Primate Ecology and Behavior; Human Ecology; Nutrition; Conservation Biology; Hunter-gatherers; Environment; Sustainable Development; Ecology; Wildlife; Gender.  

Amanda Veile aveile@purdue.edu
STONE 311 (Lab: Stone 153)
(765) 494-2376
Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology
Laura Zanotti lzanotti@purdue.edu
STON 323
(765) 496-7226
Associate Professor of Anthropology

feminist political ecology, space and place, decolonizing and collaborative methodologies, digital anthropology, communities and conservation


Adjunct Faculty

NameContactTitle
Elizabeth Briody elizabeth.briody@gmail.com.

Adjunct Professor
Bryce A. Carlson bryce@purdue.edu

Adjunct Faculty
Kevin Vaughn kjvaughn@purdue.edu

Adjunct Faculty
Sharon Williams srw@purdue.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Human Biology; Reproductive Ecology; Adaptation, Aging and Health; Biomedical Anthropology; Psychosocial Stress and Health; Indigenous populations of N.E. India; Field Methods in Human Biology Research; Laboratory Analysis of Biological Samples.


Courtesy Faculty

NameContactTitle
Elizabeth Brite brittee@purdue.edu

Assistant Professor
Kimberly Marion Suiseeya kimberly.suiseeya@northwestern.edu

Adjunct Faculty, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Northwestern University

Environmental Policy

Kendall Roark roark6@purdue.edu
STEW 174a
Assistant Professor of Library Science and Courtesy Faculty, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Emeriti Faculty

NameContactTitle
Evelyn Blackwood blackwood@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology

Gender and sexuality, kinship, self and identity, lesbian identity, transgender studies, women’s same-sex relations, globalization and sexuality, transnational feminisms, feminist theory, social movements, Island Southeast Asia, U.S. LGBT history

Richard Blanton blantonr@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology; Courtesy Faculty of Political Science

Archaeology, economic anthropology, regional analysis, political anthropology, cross-cultural analysis, theory.


Limited Term Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Kalliopi Christodoulaki cchristodoulakis@aol.com
STON B10
Limited Term Lecturer
Ryan Plis rcplis@purdue.edu
STON 219B
Limited Term Lecturer

Gender, psychological anthropology, pop culture, media, sexuality, and identity.

Brandi Wren bwren@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate

Visiting Scholars

NameContactTitle
Lane Fargher lfargher@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate
El Hassan Ahmed Mohammed emohamme@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate
Karen Lorena Romero Leal kromerol@purdue.edu

Visiting Undergraduate Research Student

Social representations about Amazon region, cultural consumption, intercultural practices, social and political participation.

B. Katherine Smith smith710@purdue.edu

Research Affiliate

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.