About Us

The Department of Philosophy offers courses of study leading to the B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. For details about the department’s programs, please use the links in the menu bar.

In addition to research specializations from across the field of contemporary analytic philosophy, the department’s faculty also exhibit particular strengths in the history of philosophy and in continental European philosophy. For more information, please see the Faculty Research Areas page.


Christopher Yeomans

 Department Head


Jeffrey Brower

Director of Graduate Studies


Daniel Smith

Director of Graduate Admissions



Jacqueline Mariña

Climate and Diversity Coordinator


Contact Us

Department of Philosophy 
Purdue University 
100 N. University Street Rm. 7105
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2098

Phone: (765) 494-4276
Fax: (765) 496-1616


The American Philosophical Association

FISP (Federation Internationale des Societes de Philosophie)

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Philosophical Weblogs

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.