Search the College of Liberal Arts directory system:

Faculty

NameContactTitle
David Atkinson atkinsod@purdue.edu
UNIV 025
(765) 496-2776
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

U.S. Foreign Relations History, Migration and Diplomatic History, International History, U.S. History

Tithi Bhattacharya tbhattac@purdue.edu
UNIV 309
(765) 496-2731
Associate Professor; Director of Global Studies (School of Interdisciplinary Studies)

South Asian History, Class Formation and Colonialism, Gender and Marxist Theory

Kathryn Cramer Brownell brownell@purdue.edu
UNIV 022
(765) 496-2478
Assistant Professor

U.S. History; 20th Century U.S. Political History, the American Presidency, and the Media

Cornelius Bynum clbynum@purdue.edu
UNIV 024
(765) 494-7102
Associate Professor

African-American History, Urban and Labor History, U.S. History

Susan Curtis curtis@purdue.edu
UNIV 329
(765) 494-4159
Professor

U.S. Intellectual and Religious History

Charles Cutter cutter@purdue.edu
UNIV 307
(765) 496-2686
Associate Professor

Colonial Latin American history, Spanish Borderlands history, Spanish Colonial legal history

Frederick Rowe Davis frdavis@purdue.edu
UNIV 123
765-494-7446
R. Mark Lubbers Chair in the History of Science

History of Science, Environmental History

Ariel de la Fuente delafuen@purdue.edu
UNIV 324
(765) 494-4132
Associate Professor


Global History, Latin American History, Latin American Literature, Literary Studies, Intellectual History

James R. Farr jrfarr@purdue.edu
UNIV 311
(765) 496-2698
Germaine Seelye Oesterle Professor of History

European History; Early Modern Europe, Renaissance, and Reformation

Vernard L. Foley foleyv@purdue.edu
REC 423
(765) 494-4132
Associate Professor

U.S. History, History of Science and Technology

Jennifer L. Foray jforay@purdue.edu
UNIV 125
(765) 494-4132
Associate Professor

Modern Europe, Imperialism, Decolonization, The Netherlands

Nancy Gabin ngabin@purdue.edu
UNIV 121
(765) 494-4141
Associate Professor

U. S. Women's and Gender History, U. S. Labor History, 20th Century U. S. History

Kim Gallon kgallon@purdue.edu
UNIV 122
(765) 496-2483
Assistant Professor

African American; African Diaspora; Sub-Saharan Africa; Women, Gender and Sexuality; Journalism History; Digital Humanities

William G. Gray wggray@purdue.edu
UNIV 328
(765) 496-2772
Associate Professor, International Programs Liaison, and Director of Communications and Recruitment

Modern German History, 20th Century Europe, World Economy

Sally A. Hastings sahnolte@purdue.edu
UNIV 021
(765) 494-6783
Associate Professor

Japan & East Asia, Gender in Modern Japan

Stacy E. Holden sholden@purdue.edu
UNIV 127
Associate Professor

Modern Middle East and North Africa, U.S. Engagement with the Arab World

R. Douglas Hurt doughurt@purdue.edu
UNIV 231
(765) 494-4132
Professor, Department Head

U.S. History; American Agricultural, Rural, West, Midwest and South

Caroline E. Janney cjanney@purdue.edu
UNIV 023
(765) 494-6757
Professor, Assistant Department Head

U.S. History, Civil War and Reconstruction, Southern History, U.S. Women and Gender History, Memory Studies

T. Cole Jones colejones@purdue.edu
UNIV 222
765-496-2796
Assistant Professor

Colonial and Revolutionary America, the Atlantic World, the Cultural History of Violence, War and Society

Rebekah A. Klein-Pejšová rkleinpe@purdue.edu
UNIV 313
(765) 494-6810
Associate Professor of History and Jewish Studies, Director of Human Rights Program (Department of Philosophy)

Transnational Approaches to Modern Jewish and East Central European History, Jewish/State Relations, Comparative Nationalism, Refugee Studies, Human Rights History

Wendy Kline wkline@purdue.edu
UNIV 325
(765) 496-2518
Dema G. Seelye Chair in the History of Medicine

History of Medicine, U.S. History, Women's History 

John L. Larson larsonjl@purdue.edu
UNIV 225
(765) 494-4127
Professor, Director of Graduate Education

U.S. History, U.S. Political and Early National, U.S. Business, U.S. Environmental History

Dawn G. Marsh dmarsh@purdue.edu
UNIV 028
(765) 494-7900
Associate Professor, Director of Native American and Indigenous Studies (School of Interdisciplinary Studies)

Native American and Indigenous Studies

Silvia Z. Mitchell mitch131@purdue.edu
UNIV 308
(765) 496-2715
Assistant Professor

Early Modern European History with an Emphasis on Spain and the Spanish Atlantic World, Women and Gender History, Political and Diplomatic History 

Mary X. Mitchell mitch279@purdue.edu

Assistant Professor

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine; Legal History; United States in the World

Lawrence J. Mykytiuk larrym@purdue.edu
STEW 241
(765) 494-3605
Associate Professor of History (Courtesy Appointment), Department of History Librarian, and Associate Professor of Library Science

Biblical Studies, History of Ancient Israel

Yvonne M. Pitts ypitts@purdue.edu
UNIV 310
(765) 496-2758
Associate Professor

U.S. History, U.S. Legal and Constitutional History, History of Sexuality

Randy W. Roberts rroberts@purdue.edu
UNIV 223
(765) 496-2668
Distinguished Professor of History

U.S. History, Recent U.S. History, Sports History, History of Hollywood, Popular Culture, Presidential History

Michael G. Smith mgsmith@purdue.edu
UNIV 027
(765) 496-2420
Professor

Russian, Aerospace, and Global History

Margaret Mih Tillman mmtillman@purdue.edu
UNIV 128
(765) 496-2651
Assistant Professor

China and East Asia, Education in Modern China, Childhood and Gender

Sharra Vostral svostral@purdue.edu
UNIV 120
(765) 496-2482
Associate Professor

Gender, Science and Technology; Science, Technology & Society; Health & Popular Culture; Material Culture

 

A. Whitney Walton awhitney@purdue.edu
UNIV 323
(765) 494-4132
Professor, Director of History Honors Program

Modern France; Modern Europe; 19th-20th Century Cultural, Social, Gender, and International History

Melinda S. Zook mzook@purdue.edu
UNIV 327
(765) 494-4134
Professor of History, Director of Cornerstone Integrated Liberal Arts

Early Modern European History, Tudor-Stuart England, Political Thought and Culture, Women and Gender


Adjunct Faculty

NameContactTitle
Peter Aschenbrenner paschenb@purdue.edu

(765) 421-9209
Adjunct Professor

Constitutional History of the Early American Republic, Great Britain and the United Kingdom 


Continuing Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Dorothee Bouquet dbouquet@purdue.edu

(765) 494-4132
Continuing Lecturer Professor

European History

Deborah L. Fleetham fleetham@purdue.edu
UNIV 126
(765) 496-2568
Continuing Lecturer Professor

European History, Modern German History, Religious History, Women's/Gender History


Courtesy Faculty

NameContactTitle
Lynn Hooker lhooker@purdue.edu
PAO 2103
(765) 496-3019
Associate Professor, Music

Emeriti Faculty

NameContactTitle
John J. Contreni contreni@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

European; Intellectual, religious, and political culture of the early medieval period (fifth to eleventh centuries) with special emphasis on the manuscripts, schools, and texts of Carolingian Europe

Raymond E. Dumett rdumett@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Global History. African, British Empire History.

Leonard H.D. Gordon lhdgordon@sbcglobal.net

Professor Emeritus of History

Modern Chinese History

Patrick J. Hearden phearden@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

U.S. History.  U.S. Foreign Affairs.

Charles W. Ingrao ingrao@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

European History. Early Modern Europe and Habsburg History.

Franklin T. Lambert flambert@purdue.edu
UNIV 313
(765) 496-2773
Professor Emeritus

Colonial and Revolutionary America

Anne W. Lommel

Professor Emerita

U.S. History

Lois N. Magner magnerln@aol.com

Professor Emerita

History of the Biological Sciences

Robert E. May mayr@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Mid-19th century U.S. history, Mexican-American War and the Civil War, as well as the U.S. South and U.S. foreign relations, research and teaching has focused upon Civil War causation

Donald L. Parman parmand@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

20th Century Native American Affairs

Jon C. Teaford teaford@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

American Urban History

Harold D. Woodman hwoodman@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Southern History


Limited Term Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Andrew D. McGregor amcgrego@purdue.edu

Limited Term Lecturer

U.S. History, Sports History, Race, Public History, and Digital Humanities

Matthew A. Schownir mschowni@purdue.edu
UNIV 110
(765) 494-4132
Limited Term Lecturer

Modern European history; history of the British Empire, modern Britain and Ireland, and global immigration and culture in the 19th Century British Commonwealth; the Irish diaspora; American legal history.  Matthew's dissertation is titled "Eire in the Empire: Irish Settlement, Violence, and Identity Formation in New South Wales and Upper Canada, 1823-1868"


Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.